Men's Tennis

Ten Pioneers Named All- Conference; Coach Wurtzman Named Coach of the Year

DENVER- Ten University of Denver tennis players were selected to All-conference teams tonight by the Western Athletic Conference (WAC) at the league's annual awards banquet.

Senior Enej Bonin (Koper, Slovenia) was named Western Athletic Conference men's tennis player of the year, while Bonin and Jens Vorkefeld (Ostercappeln, Germany) were each named to the All-WAC Singles First Team. Redshirt senior Max Krammer (Perchtoldsdorf, Austria) was selected to the All-WAC Second Team in singles. The senior tandems of Bonin and Vorkefeld, and Krammer and Fabio Biasion (Velbert, Germany) were selected to the All-WAC First Team in doubles.

In women's tennis, head coach Jeremy Wurtzman was named WAC women's tennis coach of the year. Seniors Emma Isberg (Tyreso, Sweden) and Steffi Rath (Hochst, Austria) along with freshman Kathryn Hughes (Wrexham, Wales) were named to the All-WAC Women's Singles First Team, while Sophia Bergner (Schechen, Germany) and Mandy van den Eerenbeemt (Best, Netherlands) were selected to the All-WAC Second Team in singles. The team of Hughes and junior Caroline Schnell (Greenwood Village, Colo.) were named to the All-WAC Second Team in doubles.

Bonin earns his first WAC Player of the Year honor after posting an 21-7 record in No. 1 singles. Bonin helped propel the Pioneers to a 5-0 record in WAC play giving the Pioneers a No. 1 seed going into the WAC Championship tournament.

Isberg, Rath and Hughes earn their first All-WAC First Team singles honor. Isberg boasted an impressive 24-7 singles record, primarily playing in the No. 3 slot. Rath finished the regular season with 20-7 singles record, and Hughes finished here freshman regular season 10-5 in singles.

The No. 1 seeded DU women play No. 5 Idaho in the Western Athletic Conference Championship semifinals on Friday, April 26 at 2 p.m. (MT).

The No. 1 seed Pioneer men play the winner of No. 4 New Mexico State and No. 5 Utah State in the WAC Championship semifinals on Saturday, April 27 at 10 a.m. (MT). Both matches can be seen at Gates Tennis Center.

Denver All-Western Athletic Conference Men's Singles
Enej Bonin, Denver (Player of the Year, First Team)
Jens Vorkefeld, Denver (First Team)
Max Krammer, Denver (Second Team)

DenverAll-Western Athletic Conference Men's Doubles
Enej Bonin/Jens Vorkefeld, Denver (First Team)

Fabio Biasion/Max Krammer, Denver (First Team)

Denver All-Western Athletic Conference Women's Singles
Emma Isberg, Denver (First Team)
Steffi Rath, Denver (First Team)
Kathryn Hughes, Denver (First Team)
Sophia Bergner, Denver (Second Team)
Mandy van den Eerenbeemt, Denver (Second Team)

All-Western Athletic Conference Women's Doubles
Caroline Schnell and Kathryn Hughes, Denver (Second Team)

Visit for complete coverage of all 17 of DU's NCAA Division I sports.




Like Denver Pioneers, Denver Men's and Women’s Tennis on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers, @DU_WTennis and @DU_MTennis Twitter

Print Friendly Version