Baptiste and Karr take home MVP honors at DU SA Awards Banquet

May 7, 2018

DENVER - Senior University of Denver men's lacrosse standout Trevor Baptiste was voted DU's 2017-18 Male Athlete of the Year and women's gymnastics sophomore Maddie Karr took home Female Athlete of the Year honors at the 83rd Annual Student-Athlete Awards Banquet on Monday night in Hamilton Gymnasium.

Baptiste was named a Tewaaraton Award nominee for the fourth time in his career, including being named Denver's third finalist in as many years and becoming the sport's first faceoff specialist to be tabbed a finalist for the prestigious award in 2017. A three-time USILA First Team All-America selection, Baptiste is one of 59 players in the history of the sport to earn the first team honor three times, and would become just the sixth player in history to earn the honor four times if he receives first team status again this month. Baptiste has also been named to the 2018 USILA Player of the Year Watchlist, and is a finalist for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award. Last weekend, Baptiste set the NCAA Career Faceoff Wins Record in Denver's BIG EAST Semifinal win over Marquette.

Karr continued to write herself into the DU record books during her sophomore season. She became the first DU gymnast to finish the season nationally-ranked on all four events and in the all-around including No. 5 in the all-around and tied for No. 6 on vault. For the second consecutive year, she was named the North Central Region Gymnast of the Year, and she added four more regular-season All-American nods. Additionally, she became the Big 12 Conference co-champion on both vault and floor, and was the runner-up in the all-around. She earned four of the program's top 10 all-around scores in 2018 including the second-highest score in program history (39.750). She once again competed in the all-around in every meet, contributing 100 percent of her scores to the team overall score.

Freshmen skier Jett Seymour and swimmer Stephen Calkins received the Pioneer Sportsmen the Year awards, which are annually handed out to the top male freshmen performers from the past season.

Seymour tore the slopes up in his first year at DU, earning a pair of second-team All-America honors at the NCAA Championships in Steamboat Springs. The freshman skied for sixth in the giant slalom and ninth in the slalom helping the Pioneers claim another NCAA title. He earned first in the giant slalom at the Utah Invitational and tied for sixth in the slalom at the Denver Invitational.

Calkins was a part of the first-ever Division I All-American relay in the men's swimming and diving program's history, helping break the school record to finish 15th in the 200 free relay in March. The relay contributed to Denver's best finish at the NCAA Championships since 1962, a 22nd-place tally at the national meet. In addition to the 200 free, Calkins was a part of three relay school records overall in 2017-18, also contributing to the 400 free relay and 200 medley relay new school standards. At the Summit League Championships, Calkins earned event wins in the 400 free relay, 400 medley relay, 200 free, 200 free relay, 100 fly and the 800 free relay to earn Summit League Newcomer of the Championship honors.

On the women's side, skier Amelia Smart took home the Sportswoman of the Year, given to top female freshman student-athlete.

As a freshman, Smart was a part of the ski team that claimed its 24th NCAA title this past March. The young skier has quickly made a name for herself, as she took home the individual slalom and giant slalom titles at the national championships. The two-time, first-team All American was first Pioneer since Kristine Haugen in 2013 to take home both Alpine crowns. Smart also claimed a first-place finish at the RMISA Championships in the giant slalom and she finished third at the Montana State Invitational. After her season, Smart was named a Faces in the Crowd athlete by Sports Illustrated and was named the National Women's Alpine Skier of the Year by the United States Collegiate Ski Coaches Association.

The Gold Vest Award - which is given annually to an outstanding Pioneers team for excellence in community service, academics, spirt, leadership and athletic performance - went to the men's soccer team, the fourth time in the last five years the team has won the award.

List of award-winners can be found below:

2017-18 University of Denver Athletics Awards:

Male Student-Athlete of the Year: Trevor Baptiste, Men's Lacrosse

Female Student-Athlete of the Year: Maddie Karr, Gymnastics

Pioneer Sportsmen of the Year: Jett Seymour, Skiing and Stephen Calkins, Men's Swimming

Pioneer Sportswoman of the Year: Amelia Smart, Skiing

Comeback Player of Year: Tariq Hammond, Hockey

Sports Performance Athletes of Year: Colin Staub, Hockey and Brittany Wilson, Women's Soccer

Gold Vest Award: Men's Soccer

Scholar Athletes of the Year:

Male Freshman: Trent Panzera, Men's Swimming

Female Freshman: Avery Stackle, Women's Swimming

Male Sophomore: Erich Fear, Hockey

Female Sophomore: Sarah Lingen, Women's Swimming

Male Junior: Jake Holtzmann, Men's Basketball

Female Junior: Hannah Bradford, Women's Swimming

Male Senior: Jesse Ruder-Hook, Men's Tennis

Female Senior: Jessica Dreesbeimdieke, Women's Golf

2017-18 Team MVP Awards:

Men's Basketball: Joe Rosga

Women's Basketball: Claire Gritt

Men's Golf: Chris Korte

Women's Golf: Mary Weinstein

Women's Gymnastics: Maddie Karr

Men's Hockey: Tanner Jaillet

Men's Lacrosse: Trevor Baptiste

Women's Lacrosse: Carson Gregg

Men's Alpine Skiing: Alex Leever

Women's Alpine Skiing: Amelia Smart

Men's Nordic Skiing: Dag Frode Trolleboe

Women's Nordic Skiing: Linn Eriksen

Men's Soccer: Graham Smith

Women's Soccer: Jessie Dancy

Men's Swimming: Anton Loncar

Women's Swimming: Maddie Myers

Men's Tennis: Mattia Ros

Women's Tennis: Julia O'Loughlin

Women's Volleyball: Becca Latham

Fans interested in making a donation to the Pioneer Movement Annual Fund can do so by clicking HERE. Your contribution will make a direct impact on the success of YOUR Pioneers. Thank you in advance for your unwavering support of our student-athletes and their quest for excellence.


Visit for complete coverage of all 17 of DU's NCAA Division I sports.
Denver Pioneers on Facebook

Follow @DU_Pioneers on Twitter

Print Friendly Version

Players Mentioned